Environmental Management Bureau (EMB) โ€“ I Regional Director, Engr. Maria Dorica Naz-Hipe, convened the Governing Board, Executive Committee, Technical Working Group, and Multi-Sectoral Group of the Lower Amburayan River System โ€“ Water Quality Management Area (LARS-WQMA) on August 17, 2022 for the third quarter hybrid meeting at Villa Dโ€™ Elita Resort, Sudipen, La Union.

Engr. Ryanne N. Narvaez, EMB-I Environmental Monitoring and Enforcement Division Chief, presented the objectives of the meeting. Engr. Ermenio A. Budeng, Jr., Environmental Management Specialist II, reported the LARS-WQMA Water Quality Monitoring Data and accomplishments/activities for the first semester of 2022.

EMB-I Ambient Monitoring and Technical Services Section Chief, Jayson Paolo E. Resultay, discussed the Utilization of Area Water Quality Management Fund (AWQMF), the Criteria for Selecting Projects for Funding by the AWQMF and Accrued Collections in Region 1. He also presented the remaining activities for the year including details of the WQMA Summit happening on October 27-28, 2022 in Ilocos Norte.

Ms. Wilhelmina Lagunilla, Supervising EMS of EMB-Cordillera Administrative Region, presented the Upper Amburayan River System (UARS) -WQMA Water Quality Monitoring Data for the first semester of 2022 and she also gave updates on the upcoming LARS and URS-WQMA Convergence meeting on October 19-21, 2022 in Atok, Benguet. The budget for the said Convergence Meeting will be shared by EMB-Region 1 and EMB- CAR.

The Municipalities of Tagudin, Alilem, and Sugpon, Province of Ilocos Sur and Santol and Bangar, Province of La Union presented their first semester 2022 WQMA accomplishments related to solid waste management, forest management, and water quality management.

Regional Director Hipe reminded the member LGUs to submit entries for the Water Quality Management Area Poster and Slogan Contest and documentations of the seedlings distributed to them during the โ€œPiesta Ti Karayan Amburayanโ€ Year IV.

By virtue of DENR Administrative Oder No. 3 series of 2018, the Lower Amburayan River System was designated as Water Quality Management Area. LARSโ€“WQMA includes the Municipalities of Bangar, Santol, and Sudipen in La Union and the municipalities of Alilem, Cervantes, Sigay, Sugpon, Suyo, and Tagudin in Ilocos Sur.