The Environmental Management Bureau โ€“ Region I of the Department of Environment and Natural Resources and Naguilian River System-Water Quality Management Area Technical Working Group (NRS-WQMA TWG) Committee conducted a field validation in the Municipalities of Naguilian and Bauang and City of San Fernando, La Union on April 1, 2022 for the Search for NRSโ€“WQMA Best LGU Implementer for the calendar year 2021.

During the preliminary judging of entries, the Municipalities of Naguilian and Bauang and the City of San Fernando, La Union were chosen as top contenders.

The search for Best Local Government Unit (LGU) Implementer for CY 2021 is a way to assess and recognize the commitment, effort, and achievements of the member LGUs in implementing the goals and objectives of the NRS-WQMA to preserve and protect the Naguilian River System. After the field validation, the NRSโ€“WQMA TWG shall convene for the the conduct of the Stage 3: Final Deliberation for the Best NRS-WQMA LGU Implementer in May 2022

The technical working group is composed of the Provincial Government of La Union (PGLU) represented by EnP. Shereal M. Catbagan and Forester Jay-ar Raquedan; Engr. Lily Neremiapel D. Esteban of Department of Health-Center for Health Development (DOH-CHD) Region I; Engr. Blessmelord Emir C. Gacutan of National Economic & Development Authority (NEDA) – Region I; Engr. Eiryz Angelique Clyde Orpilla and Mr. Raymond P. Espe of Department of Science and Technology (DOST) Region I, Mr. Rodel B. Villena of Bureau of Fisheries & Aquatic Resources (BFAR) Region I; Forester Genesis S. Sison of Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) Region I; Forester Jimry A. Dio-as of Provincial Environment and Natural Resources Office (PENRO) La Union; Mr. Romeo T. Padilla of Department of Education (DepEd) Region I; Ms. Jacklyn C. Andrada of Don Mariano Marcos Memorial State University; and Engr. Alexander A. Patacsil and Engr. Arturo N. Rimando of Metro San Fernando Water District (MSFWD). The group was assisted by LGU personnel and EMB-I technical staff during the Field Validation, namely Engr. Shiela May Anongos and Engr. Lea Ohelen of LGU San Fernando City; Ms. Joy P. Flores and EnP. Mark Anthony Dilodilo of LGU Naguilian; and Mr. Marc Alvin Garcia and Ms. Irene Gapasin of LGU Bauang, together with EMS II, Engr. Ermenio Budeng, Jr; EMS I, Engr. Vic Joseph R. Esquejo; EMS I Florilyn Padua-Claro; and Technical Support Staff Mr. Carl Vincent R. Rabanillo of EMB-Region I .